Chicago Detours Hosts Free Virtual Tours During Covid-19 Shut-In

“Instead of the real-life walking tours Chicago Detours usually offer, right now you can join Chicago Detours on 20-minute talks as a “Historic Happy Hour for Curious People” on weekdays and 40-minute live, virtual tours on weekends. These online talks and tours are free, with a $5-15 suggested donation to support our small business. Public tours are currently suspended. Past talks are viewable on Youtube for a limited time.”

Registration is required. Space via Zoom platform is limited. 

“HISTORIC VIRTUAL HAPPY HOUR FOR CURIOUS PEOPLE” – 6:00pm-6:30pm

Mon, Apr. 6 – “Chicago Architecture Crash Course in 20 Minutes”
Tues, Apr. 7 – “Demystifying the Chicago Pedway” –
Wed, Apr. 8 – “Neighborhoods vs. Community Areas Explained”
Thurs, Apr. 9 – “The Wonders of the 1893 World’s Fair”
Fri, Apr. 10 – “Six Classic North & South Side Restaurants”
Mon, Apr. 13 – “A Deep Slice of Chicago Food History”
Tues, Apr. 14 – “Chicago Music and the Roots of Jazz and Blues”
Wed, Apr. 15 – “Step Inside a Turn-of-the-Century Skyscraper”
Thurs, Apr. 16 – “A Walk Down Madison Street”
Fri, Apr. 17 – “Da Beers: Chicago Drinking History Pt. 1”
Mon, Apr. 20 – “Best Architectural Styles Since Sliced Bread”
Tues, Apr. 21 – “Fun in Chicago’s First Theaters”
Wed, Apr. 22 – “Five Badass Women of Chicago History”
Thurs, Apr. 23 – “Chicago History Crash Course in 20 Minutes”
Fri, Apr. 24 – “Da Beers: Chicago Drinking History Pt. 2”
Mon, Apr. 27 – “LGBT History of Chicago Beyond Boystown”
Tues, Apr. 28 – “A Century of Contrasts in the South Loop”
Wed, Apr. 29 – “Marshall Field’s Trailblazing History of Shopping”
Thurs, Apr. 30 – “The Story of Starting a Small Business”



VIRTUAL TOURS – 1:00pm-1:50pm

Sat, Apr. 11 – “Neighborhood Detour: Pilsen, Chinatown, Greektown, Little Italy”
Sun, Apr. 12 – “Hidden Neighborhood Architecture in Noble Square and Wicker Park”
Sat, Apr. 18 – “Neighborhood Detour: Hyde Park, Washington Park, Woodlawn, South Shore”
Sun, Apr. 19 – “Hidden Neighborhood Architecture in Fulton Market”
Sat, Apr. 25 – “Neighborhood Detour: Logan Square, Avondale, Bucktown and the 606”
Sun, Apr. 26 – “Hidden Neighborhood Architecture in Rogers Park”

More information at the Chicago Detours website and view past talks and tours on Chicago Detours YouTube channel

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here