Chicago Detours Hosts Free Virtual Tours During Stay-at-Home Order

“Instead of the real life walking tours we usually offer, right now you can join us on 20-minute talks as a “Historic Happy Hour for Curious People” on weekdays and 40-minute live, virtual tours on weekends. These online talks and tours are free, with a $5-25 suggested donation to support our small business. Public tours are currently suspended. Past talks and virtual tours are viewable on Youtube for a limited time.”

Registration is required. Space via Zoom platform is limited. 

“HISTORIC VIRTUAL HAPPY HOUR FOR CURIOUS PEOPLE” – Weekdays 6:00pm-6:30pm

Fri, May 1 – “Five Classic Chicago Bars”
Wed, May 6 – “Damn Fine Architecture on Dearborn and Printer’s Row”
Thurs, May 7 – “Chicago Underground Layers Virtual Expedition”
Fri, May 8 – “Forgotten Nightlife History around Viagra Triangle”
Tues, May 12 – “World Detour to Sicily with Amanda”
Wed, May 13 – “Chicago’s Forgotten Chinatown”
Thurs, May 14 – “Monumental Architecture of LaSalle Street”
Fri, May 15 – “Beloved Barflies of Chicago Lore”



LIVE VIRTUAL TOURS – Weekends 1:00pm-1:50pm

Sat, May 2 – “Gargoyles, Jenga Towers, and Robots in a UChicago Campus Tour”
Sun, May 3 – “What’s left of Al Capone’s Chicago”
Sat, May 9 – “Cruise from Your Couch Virtual Boat Tour”
Sun, May 10 – “Mother’s Day Brunch Women’s History Tour”
Sat, May 16 – “The Secret Pasts of Wicker Park Buildings”
Sun, May 17 – “Brains Behind the Chicago Skyscraper”

More information at the Chicago Detours website and view past talks and tours on Chicago Detours YouTube channel

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here