Staff and Board of Directors

Preservation Chicago Board of Directors and Staff


Executive Board of Directors

Brad Suster – President
Jacob Kaplan – Vice President
Debbie Dodge – Secretary
Andy Thornton – Treasurer

Board of Directors

Stuart Berman
Cathie Bond
Debbie Dodge
Joyce Jackson
Jacob Kaplan
Emily Nielsen
Andrea Reed
Susannah Ribstein
Jack Spicer
Brad Suster
Andy Thornton
Charles Vinz


Ward Miller
Executive Director

Adam Natenshon
Director of Operations

Cathie Bond
Director of Events

Andrew Schneider
Director of Communications


Ward Miller

Since 2013, Ward Miller has led Preservation Chicago as its Executive Director. Previously, he was the Executive Director of the Richard Nickel Committee, where he secured funding for the 2010 publication of The Complete Architecture of Adler & Sullivan – of which Miller was also a co-author – and helped prepare the archives of the architectural photographer and preservationist Richard Nickel for gifting to the Art Institute of Chicago.

As an architect specializing in the restoration, remodeling, and redevelopment of historic buildings, Miller worked for 20 years as a project architect and project manager at Vinci-Hamp Architects in Chicago (1983-2003).

Over the course of his career in the fields of architecture and preservation, Miller has been awarded a Distinguished Service Award by the American Institute of Architects, a Gold Medal Award by the Independent Publishers of America, and a Chicago Landmark Award by the City of Chicago. He is also a former Vice-president of Logan Square Preservation (2000-2013) and a former member of the Illinois Historic Sites Advisory Council Board (2006-2009), among many other community and professional affiliations.